The renovation of an old building like the McCrory Timmerman Building is, in essence, an archeological dig. During the process we have discovered that the building was once 3 separate structures, each beginning as a single story enterprise with upper levels added on as changing times demanded. Beneath the slab, which was assumed to be part of the original footing we discovered 18″ of soil and rubble and beneath that another older, cruder, hand poured slab; its story is unknown.
In 1911, the 3 separate buildings were united, covering for more than one hundred years, eighteen arched windows that today’s generations had never seen.
The building has owned the names Sturgis-Goldstein, J. Marse & Co., McCrory’s and then later and less exceptionally, it became known as the “place where the volunteer firemen train.”
The McCrory Timmerman Building anchors the northwest corner of Main and Second Street in the historical area of downtown Taylor. Historically, a mercantile store catering to the needs of local farmers and settlers, then later a department store tempting visitors to stop and explore. Finally in the 1960’s and 70’s, a bustling landmark hosting a candy counter and diner where Taylors teenagers gathered and made plans for their futures.
In recognition of the prominent role this building has played in the lives of our history, we invited Taylor residents to visit the site and share some of their stories. Local sound engineer, Mike Shear, joined Dixie Rhoades and John Bielss around a large table while many neighbors dropped by for a chat. Listen to some of there stories by clicking on the sound bars to the right.
Listen to the Stories
Click on the arrow to listen to people share their stories of the old McCrory Timmerman building.